professafresh vs. AppleTV: Round Two

I recently moved and my new setup involved running my AppleTV wirelessly instead of wired, as in my previous residence.  Everything worked ok in an offline mode.  It wouldn’t associate to my AP for some reason.

Me being an idiot, I reset the ATV to the factory defaults using the onboard recovery partition and the Menu and Minus keys while booting up.  I rebuilt my Patchstick and reloaded Perian, ATVFiles, SSH, killed Watchdog, and all that fun stuff.  Creating AFP shares on my Windows fileserver was a pain in the ass.  Cygwin’s NFS server felt and performed way too hackishly.  I looked to see if anyone had figured out a SMB/CIFS workaround and I was happily surprised with what I found

Sharity Light is an open-source userland SMB/CIFS mounter that doesn’t require any additional kernel modules/drivers, and I compiled it for Intel Mac use.  Since the AppleTV is an Intel Mac at its heart, sharity works perfectly.  Compile on my MacBook, SCP to the AppleTV, move it to /usr/sbin, and done.

Another note, once I was able to get the SSHD upgraded and enabled SSHv2, I was able to mount frontrow’s home directory via SCP on my Mac, thanks to Amit Singh’s incredibly useful MacFuse project.  No more using the old (but still excellent) Fugu for SCP.

I think I’m going try to see if I can make any progress on the $1000 bounty, but I’m sure I’ll lose interest after about five minutes of failing…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

