professafresh vs. AppleTV

AppleTV

When everyone’s favorite fruit company announced the AppleTV, not many people were too psyched about it. Maybe it was the bad timing, being given about 20 minutes in the keynote after Steve demoed the iPhone for two hours, maybe it was the assumed lack of format support, maybe it was something else.

I have all my DVDs transcoded into various formats (DivX, XviD, a couple Oggs) so once I heard the AppleTV would only support MP4/AAC, I was unhappy. I’m not about to either find all my DVDs and re-rip them into MP4, nor was I ready to transcode my existing Xvids into MP4. The AppleTV didn’t appeal to me.

Some SA Forum Goon by the name of Awkward cracked open his AppleTV, ripped out the disk, and installed Perian, the self-proclaimed “swiss-army knife for QuickTime.” It’s a QT component that adds native support for all kinds of video formats to QuickTime. Perian is to OS X as DefilerPak (nowadays ffdshow) is to Windows.

After following the work of the newly-founded AwkwardTV crew, I finally broke down and bought one yet another Apple product.

After I got the machine, I plugged it in to a monitor via a HDMI–>DVI adapter, found a flash drive, and followed the Patchstick Testing procedure from Awkward’s wiki. I was impressed how easily it worked.  My warranty is still valid, too!

Once that was done, I killed watchdog, downloaded and installed ATVFiles, and upgraded the sshd. For some reason, even though it’s the exact same sshd that’s on my MacBook, it would only let me use sshv1, which both PuTTY and MacFUSE didn’t play nice with. Perhaps it was becuase I hadn’t generated the RSA/DSA host keys, or something.

Now I’m pretty much done with any other mods and stuff, but I’ve got to figure out how to make this thing mount my Windows server full of movies. There hasn’t been much luck getting Samba running, and I’m pretty sure I can’t run an AFP server on Windows, so it looks like NFS via Windows Services for Unix is one of my last options…

Leave a Reply

